Book Reviews, Books 💜

Book Review: The Liar’s Daughter by Rona Halsall






Title: The Liar’s Daughter

Author: Rona Halsall

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Suspense

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: April 26 2021



Blurb

The call comes on an ordinary Sunday afternoon to say your sister has been admitted to hospital with a serious head injury. But you don’t have a sister… do you?

You’ve never doubted your parents. You’ve loved them without question your whole life. But your stepmother is uncharacteristically speechless, and your father isn’t well enough to understand.

So you get in your car.

Turn the key in the ignition.

Knowing everything behind you is a lie.

Not knowing what lies ahead: the truth… or something far darker?

A deliciously dark and twisty tale of deception, secrets and family ties, The Liar’s Daughter is perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in the Window and The Family Upstairs.







Previously known as The Missing Sister, this book is an intriguing mystery. From the beginning to the end, it’s all about solving and finding the truth.

Eva suddenly receives a call from a hospital claiming that her sister had been hospitalized. She obviously never knew she had a sister so it came as a shock to her. After asking her stepmother, she realizes it’s true. Her supposed sister left home after their mom died, and she had a disagreement with their dad who is now suffering from Alzheimers.

Eva becomes distraught and determined to find her sister. Much to her stepmother’s dismay, Eva travels to visit her sister. From there, the lies begin.

I love the cool vibes I got when Eva and her sister Nancy got back to Nancy’s home. It felt so surreal, the atmosphere, the wide range of fruits and vegetables grown there. And of course the lovely house by the side.

Eva and Nancy’s relationship started great until Eva began noticing strange things in the house and also in her sister’s behavior. I personally thought it was an intruder that had snuck in, or an old friend of Nancy’s.

I was shocked to discover the truth. It was totally not what I was thinking. From the new POV, everything changed. A new character brought a new perspective to the entire plot, changing it in ways I couldn’t imagine.

I love the suspense throughout the books, the flashbacks and the so accurate descriptions. The new character was one that showed how a person could make a mistake that could be disastrous and have many consequences. But we’re all human. And we make mistakes.
The important thing is to realise it and find a way forward.

I enjoyed reading the sisters bonding together after everything, and working on what to do next. A lot of questions were answered as well, and I think they all found closure at the end.

Much thanks to Netgalley, Bookouture and Rona Halsall for this ARC copy. I enjoyed reading it.




Have you read this book? Tell me what you think in the comments section below!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s