Book Reviews, Books 💜

Shadow Music by Helaine Mario

Title: Shadow Music

Genre: Literary Fiction, Women’s Fiction, Contemporary

Publisher: Oceanview Publishing

Published: September 21 2021

Pages: 384

Blurb

Overcoming loss—finding the courage to move on—trying to stay alive
Late in the Cold War, an infant girl and a priceless painting vanish during a tragic escape from Communist Hungary, setting in motion a decades-old secret that will change lives for generations to come.
Many years later, classical pianist Maggie O’Shea goes to Cornwall in search of a missing journalist—and a long-lost Van Gogh. Decades-old secrets from World War II Paris hold many of the answers, but only two people know where the Van Gogh is hidden now—a courageous nun and a man presumed dead.
Set against the backdrop of the international music world, Maggie finds herself on a collision course with three ruthless Russians who threaten all she holds dear—including her life and the life of the man she has come to love.

Past and present converge in this haunting tale of loss, courage, love, and revenge.

Perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and Iris Johansen

This was not what I expected. It was not intriguing and i wanted to DNF it at some point. The storyline is interesting, about a murder mystery with the chapters rotating between the past and the present. At the beginning, I liked the characters, especially in the past. I secretly wanted the whole book to be about them but then all of a sudden there were new characters and i felt they weren’t even going with the flow.

It’s the third book in the series, but I still understood it. The whole storyline is a bit mushy with many characters and stories. However towards the end, new things emerge and i liked that part a bit more.

I’m sure a lot of people would enjoy this historical suspense. It just wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s