Book Reviews, Books 💜

How To Book A Murder (Starlit Bookshop Mystery #1) by Cynthia Kuhn

Hello guys. Here’s another bookshop kinda thriller that I terribly enjoyed. Read on to find out and don’t forget to tell me what you think in the comment section!

Title: How To Book A Murder

Author: Cynthia Kuhn

Genre: Mystery, Cozy Mystery, Contemporary

Published: December 7, 2021

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Pages: 336

BLURB

Perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Kate Carlisle, in award-winning author Cynthia Kuhn’s series debut, small-town bookseller and literary event planner Emma Starrs is out to close the book on a killer intent on crashing the party.

To help save her family’s floundering Colorado bookstore, Starlit Bookshop, newly minted Ph.D. Emma Starrs agrees to plan a mystery-themed dinner party for her wealthy, well-connected high school classmate Tabitha Baxter. It’s a delightful evening of cocktails and conjecture until Tabitha’s husband, Tip—hosting the affair in the guise of Edgar Allan Poe’s detective C. Auguste Dupin—winds up murdered.

In a heartbeat, Emma and her aunt Nora, a famous mystery writer, become suspects. Emma is sure the party’s over for Starlit events, until celebrated author Calliope Nightfall, whose gothic sensibilities are intrigued by the circumstances, implores the bookseller to create a Poe-themed launch event for her latest tome. Throwing a bash to die for while searching for additional clues is already enough to drive Emma stark raven mad, but another shocking crime soon reveals that Silvercrest has not yet reached the final chapter of the puzzling case.

Someone in this charming artistic community has murder on the mind, and if Emma cannot outwit the killer, she and her beloved aunt will land behind bars, to walk free nevermore.

I enjoyed reading this intriguing thriller. Even since I read The Bookshop Murder, I think im obsessed with thrillers that center on Bookshops.

This book revolves around Emma who is back in her hometown to help help around in her family’s bookshop which her sister Lucy and aunt Nora, is taking care of. Sales are reducing drastically and they are eager to find a way to keep the bookshop open. They get lucky when a popular lady who is also a former classmate Tabitha hires Emma to organize a Murder Mystery party for her. Everything goes well at first until her husband, Professor Tip is murdered in the middle of the party.

Questions arise. Who killed him? Somehow Tabitha goes around town telling people that Emma and her aunt are responsible for her husband’s death.

I love the bookish theme behind this book. Nora is a certified thriller author, and Emma is planning to rewrite her draft as well. So there were a lot of scenes about writing techniques which were very informative.

A lot of guesses on this book. I couldn’t believe Felicity was the murderer all this time! It was truly shocking! The reasons behind her murder spree were very much explained and i felt myself wowing at it all. I kinda see Jake with Emma as a good team. I was impressed with him apologizing to her at the end and asking her out for coffee.

Characters I despised were many. From Tabitha to her minions and their husbands to Ian. They were despicable and truly mean. So sad people like that truly live in the world. Selfish and destructable. Absolute sociopaths. I adored Calliope and her unique character. She’s such a handful and one of a kind. Her excerpt while reading at the party was wonderful.

I so much enjoyed reading this and totally recommend to Thriller and Mystery lovers.

Thanks to Netgalley, the publisher and Cynthia Kuhn for this ARC copy.

Rating: 4 out of 5.


2 thoughts on “How To Book A Murder (Starlit Bookshop Mystery #1) by Cynthia Kuhn”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s