Book Reviews, Books 💜

Shadow In The Glass by M. E. Hilliard (Greer Hogan Mystery #2)

Title: Shadow In The Glass

Author: M. E. Hilliard

Genre: Mystery, Cozy Mystery, Fiction

Published: April 5th, 2022

BLURB

Murder rocks a wedding celebration at an idyllic lakeside home—and librarian-turned-sleuth Greer Hogan could be next on the killer’s guest list in this second exciting installment, perfect for fans of Louise Penny.

Librarian Greer Hogan is on hand to celebrate her old friend Sarah Whitaker’s nuptials at the Whitaker summer home on beautiful Mirror Lake, just outside the upstate New York village of Lake Placid. But Greer has an ulterior motive—to gather information that could reopen the investigation into her husband’s murder, a crime for which she believes an innocent man went to prison. Her plans come to a shuddering halt when a wedding guest goes missing and turns up dead in the lake. The guest, Brittany Miles, was an employee of the Whitaker family whom Sarah had long suspected was up to no good at work.

The police have no leads, but Greer—an avid reader of crime fiction who possesses an uncanny knack for deduction—begins her own investigation. She learns that the victim was seen with a mystery man right before she disappeared. Then the autopsy reveals that she didn’t drown in the lake after all, but in the reflecting pool in the Whitaker garden.

The suspect list is as long as the guest list itself, with no apparent motive. Now, Greer must rely on the wisdom of her favorite fictional detectives to tease out truth from lies—and keep herself out of the killer’s sights.

This is book 2 in the Greer Hogan mystery books. However, this can be read as a standalone.

Greer Hogan is a librarian, amateur sleuth who fancies solving murder mysteries. Recently widowed, she has questions regarding her husband’s death. She feels there’s more to his death. Could it be murder? What greater way of finding out than going to her best friend’s luxurious wedding, where almost everyone attending knew her former husband?! In the midst of the wedding frivolities, a dead is found. Cops are called to the scene and before long, it becomes clear that one of the guests is responsible. Greer is on a quest and alongside her best friend, the groom, her ex boyfriend, and a new friend, they pursue the leads they have in their quest to solve the murder.

I like Greer’s character, she’s quiet, attentive and watches what goes on around her. The descriptions in this book were out of this world! What luxury! I love reading about strange houses, so when I got to the mysterious mansion with the weird noises, I was intrigued the more. I was ready for the shocking twist at the end. It made sense but I had other suspects from the beginning. Some chapters were boring and I believe didn’t add anything to the book. In general, it was kinda slow, chapters dragging on and on and at times boring.

Apart from that, I enjoyed it. It has a mix of suspense, mystery, drama, layered with betrayals, hate and love. It also has some pretty hilarious dialogues that got me cracking up.

Much thanks to Netgalley, the publisher and the author for the arc copy of this book.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s