Book Reviews, Books 💜

A Letter From Pearl Harbor by Anne Stuart

Title: A Letter From Pearl Harbor

Author: Anna Stuart

Genre: Historical Fiction, World War II

Published: November 5th, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

BLURB

Ninety-eight-year-old Ginny McAllister’s last wish is for her granddaughter to complete a treasure hunt containing clues to her past. Clues that reveal her life as one of the first female pilots at Pearl Harbor, and a devastating World War Two secret.

1941, Pearl Harbor:
 On the morning of December 7th, Ginny is flying her little yellow plane above the sparkling seas when she spots an unknown aircraft closing in on her. She recognises the red symbol of the Japanese fighter planes almost too late. Somehow, she manages to land unscathed but the choices she is forced to make in the terrible hours that follow have tragic consequences…

2019, Pearl Harbor: Heartbroken Robyn Harris is reeling from the death of the strong, determined grandmother who raised her. Her only comfort is a letter written in Ginny’s distinctive hand which details a treasure hunt, just like the ones she used to set for her as a little girl. Except this time, the clues are scattered across the beautiful island of Hawaii. Despite her grief, Robyn finds herself intrigued as she follows the trail of letters, revealing the truth about Ginny’s service during the Second World War.

But Robyn’s whole world is turned upside down when she’s faced with a shocking secret which has the power to change the course of her own life…

Inspired by true events, this is a heartbreaking and unforgettable WW2 novel about love, loss and bravery. Perfect for fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale and Kathryn Hughes.
 

I recently discovered Anna Stuart and I must say she is a fantastic writer. I first read her book The Berlín Zookeeper and now A Letter From Pearl Harbour.

This book focuses on the lives of two sisters – Ashleigh and Robyn. Their witty, funny grandmother of 98 – Grandma Ginny dies and leaves them with a treasure hunt in order for them to know how her life was during the world war II when she was at Pearl Harbour in 1942. After the funeral, both sisters return to Honolulu to pick up on the trail she left for them.

This book is drama at its best. It’s written in dual timelines, so we get to see the sisters fixing the puzzle while going on with their lives and also grandma Ginny from 1942. I like books that discuss the war period and in this I learnt quite a lot. There are a lot of historical events that actually took place in real life and also mention of real people.

If I was to rename this book it’d be Queen Of The Skies. Because Ginny was a tough lady that showed everyone around that just because she is a female doesn’t mean she’s anything less. No. She is MORE. And she proved that. Ginny is a sweet lady, kind and carefree. I love her friendship with her friend. They’re two incredible women and I’m glad they found their happy ending at last.

The book is quite emotional as well. Reading about the loss of all those people was heartbreaking. And then the accident that happened with Ginny’s friend! It was just too much. I wept so hard at all the violence that happened during the war. Tbh this book has left a deep scar in me.

It’s so wholesome. It’s emotional, heartbreaking, amazing. It tells a tale of love, friendship, loss, loyalty and most importantly, hope. Never lose hope. For more about hope, please check out this post that I wrote last month. It’s amateur but well… I’m an amateur writer. Please bear with me.

Reading this book reminded me that life is easy. You just have to go through it with a cool head. After Ginny felt she was the cause of her friends’ accident, she felt that she wouldn’t be able to move on. But her boyfriend whom I absolutely respect, came back and told her she was the best thing that had ever happened to him. I love that scene.

I truly enjoyed reading this book and I can’t wait to read more of Anna Stuart books.

Thanks to Netgalley, Bookouture and the author for the arc copy of this book.


Advertisement

1 thought on “A Letter From Pearl Harbor by Anne Stuart”

Leave a Reply to Georgia @ Lost in Neverland Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s