Book Reviews, Books ๐Ÿ’œ

Trick or Treat (DS Imogen Grey #7) by Katerina Diamond

Title: Trick or Treat

Author: Katerina Diamond

Genre: Mystery, Crime, Thriller Halloween

Published: October 14th, 2021

Pages: 432

Blurb

A stranger. A child. A liar who will stop at nothingโ€ฆ

When six-year-old Marcus is taken from outside his house on Halloween, there is only one witness: a frightened teen determined to keep himself hidden.

After an anonymous tip off, Detective Imogen Grey is called out to an expensive Exeter street, caught up in the buzz of the holiday. But when the police visit Marcus’s house, his parents claim everything is fine. Imogen is sure there is more to the family than meets the eye. But just how much more, she could never have imaginedโ€ฆ

What has happened to little Marcus? And will he ever come home?

Smart, shocking and twisty โ€“ perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, TM Logan and Karin Slaughter.

This book is the latest addition to the Grey and Miles series. I haven’t read any of the other books in the series but this book was excellent. I feel there’s no need to read the others in the series and this can be read as a standalone.

It was quite straightforward from the beginning. It was obvious it was going to centre on a kidnapping. From the first scene we see a teenager – Jason who is angry at his girlfriend for dumping him. Deciding to trash her house since her parents and her are on a vacation, he sees something he can never unsee. A young boy being kidnapped from just across the street by two hooded men in a white van. Jason quickly calls the cops anonymously and Detective Imogen Grey is soon called to the scene.

From there, investigations begin and pretty much only ends towards the epilogue. I like Imogen’s character, she’s tough, bossy, strong willed and dedicated to her hob. Her boyfriend and her are quite solid even though he was dealing with his own problems unknown to her. Jason’s household is also included, their problems increasing by the day. From his aloof dad returning, to his brother coming out of jail. The only person not really in the book is Marcus himself. I feel reading about Marcus in his captive state would have been really good since the whole book is centred on him. Besides, he’s not that young. So reading his thoughts and what he went through should have been part of the story.

Thanks to Netgalley, the Publisher and the author for the arc copy of this book.


2 thoughts on “Trick or Treat (DS Imogen Grey #7) by Katerina Diamond”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s