Book Reviews, Books ๐Ÿ’œ

The Clockmaker’s Wife by Daisy Wood

Title: The Clockmaker’s Wife

Author: Daisy Wood

Genre: Historical Fiction, Suspense

Published: July 7th, 2021

Publisher: Avon

BLURB

The world is at war. And time is running outโ€ฆ

London, 1940. Britain is gripped by the terror of the Blitz, forcing Nell Spelman to flee the capital with her young daughter โ€“ leaving behind her husband, Arthur, the clockmaker who keeps Big Ben chiming. 

When Arthur disappears, Nell is desperate to find him. But her search will lead her into far darker places than she ever imaginedโ€ฆ 

New York, Present Day. When Ellie discovers a beautiful watch that had once belonged to a grandmother she never knew, she becomes determined to find out what happened to her. But as she pieces together the fragments of her grandmotherโ€™s life, she begins to wonder if the past is better left forgottenโ€ฆ 

A powerful and unforgettable tale of fierce love, impossible choices and a moment that changes the world forever, perfect for fans of Fiona Valpy and Suzanne Kelman.

London 1940, Neil and Author’s house is bombed down forcing them to stay in a shelter. Realizing how dangerous it is for them especially with a baby, they make a hard decision. For Neil and the baby to go to the country area – her family home and stay there for a while. Once there, she gets anxious now that Author, who is a clockmaker is not with her. One morning, she gets a distressed call from him. She immediately realizes something is wrong. But what? She hastily makes a decision – go back to London to find out just what kind of trouble her husband is in.

New York, 2021. Ellie watches in despair as her mothers frail health takes a turn for the worst. In all the time she spent with her, Mom finds it hard to talk about her family, or even her childhood. At one of the visits to the hospital to see her dear mother, Ellie discovers a watch that had belonged to her grandmother. Ellie is now more than ever determined to find out who her family are. Her aunt whom she had never met, any cousins perhaps, her family history. Most especially who her grandmother Neil Spelman had been. No matter the consequences.

This is a unique story of love, family and betrayal. Daisy Wood has written this exceptional historical book in the most intriguing way. With only 2 POVs (Neil and Ellie) I was able to understand every aspect of it. The specific time period that this book was set in, was very heartbreaking and sad. I was very amazed by Neil’s dedication and love, together with every character that portrayed courage to save others. The decisions they had to make at a short period of time only just so they could save the people and their country.

The Clockmaker’s Wife is very dear to me and I highly recommend it to not only Historical Fiction lovers but everyone as well.

Much thanks to Netgalley, Avonbooks and Daisy Wood for this ARC copy.

Advertisement

1 thought on “The Clockmaker’s Wife by Daisy Wood”

  1. What you are spoken communication is totally true. i do know that everyone should say a similar factor, however I simply assume that you simply place it in an exceedingly method that everybody will perceive. i am positive you may reach such a lot of folks with what you’ve to mention.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s