Book Reviews, Books πŸ’œ

The Bookshop Murder by Merryn Allingham

Hiii queridos. How’re you all doing? I’m back with another book review. Enjoy reading!


Title: The Bookshop Murder – Flora Steele Murder Mystery Book 1

Author: Merryln Allingham

Published: July 26th 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Pages: 256 pages

BLURB

Bookshop owner Flora Steele escapes the sleepy English village of Abbeymead through the adventures in the stories she sells. Until one morning, everything changes when she discovers a body amongst her own bookshelves…

The young man with the shock of white-blond hair lay spread-eagled on the floor, surrounded by fallen books. His hand reached out to the scattered pages, as though he was trying to tell her something.
But who is he? How did he come to be killed in Flora’s ordinary little bookshop? Flora finds out he was staying at the Priory Hotel, and when the gardener suddenly dies in its beautiful grounds only a few days later, she is certain that something untoward is happening in her quiet village by the sea.

But are the two deaths connected? And is someone at the hotel responsible – the nervous cook, the money-obsessed receptionist, or the formidable manageress?
Determined to save her beloved bookshop’s reputation and solve the murder mystery, Flora enlists the help of handsome and brooding Jack Carrington: crime writer, recluse and her most reliable customer.

As the unlikely duo set about investigating the baffling case, guilty faces greet them at every door.

And they soon realise there’s more than one person hiding secrets in Abbeymead…The start of a brand-new murder mystery series featuring bookshop owner Flora Steele and crime writer Jack Carrington. Fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis will love this perfect cozy murder mystery novel. An utterly addictive story that will have you guessing until the very end.

Mystery, cozy mysyery, historical mystery.The bookshop had been a haven since she was so high, but now it felt violated and she worried that she might never feel comfortable there again

😍 This is one of my favorite books this year Wallahi. I am in love with this book! Everything about it is awesome. From the characters, to the chapters, to the plot. Everything about it is simply outstanding.

πŸ–‹ The Bookshop Murder is the first book in the Flora Steele Series. Set in England in the 1950s, this cozy mystery revolves around a twenty five year old lady Flora Steele who after the death of her aunt Violet inherits a bookshop called All’s Well and a cottage in their small town of Abbeymead, Sussex.

πŸ’• The book starts off with a brief intro of Flora’s life and then, well… the mystery begins. A writer, Jack Carrington, also a customer of the bookshop arrives to collect his books when all of a sudden he finds a dead body inside. Soon, the police are called in but they dismiss it as a natural death. But to flora something seems amiss. In a time when the war has just ended, things are terribly difficult. And Floras’ dream of traveling around the world seems impossible.

πŸ’œ Her bookshop suffers a huge decline, rumours start spreading about ghosts and what-not in it. And in a little town like Abbeymead, people tend to believe in what they hear. Frustrated, Flora formulates a plan. The only hope she has for her shop to get back to normal. She teams up with the crime writer Jack and together they begin to investigate.

😘 I loooove the setting of small towns and especially when the plot is centred on bookshops. That was why i requested for this. It was a pleasant read for me and I’m really amazed by the writing style.

πŸ’« I believe it really depicted the era it was set in. The characters were interesting but Flora and Jack are simply the best duo ever! I just ship them.

😍It was a bit obvious who the murderer was towards the end but nonetheless i enjoyed this.

Much thanks to Netgalley, Bookouture and Merryn Allingham for this ARC copy.

🌟🌟🌟🌟. 5 πŸ’«

Advertisement

2 thoughts on “The Bookshop Murder by Merryn Allingham”

Leave a Reply to Georgia @ Lost in Neverland Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s