Book Reviews, Books ๐Ÿ’œ

The Queen’s Spy by Clare Marchant

Heyy guys. How’re you all doing? I’m back with another Historical Fiction that absolutely swept me in! Hope you like this as well.

Title: The Queen’s Spy

Author: Clare Marchant

Genre: Historical Fiction, European Literature, Spy Thriller

Published: July 8th, 2021

Publisher: Avon

Pages: 400

BLURB

A perilous mission. An unforgivable betrayal. A secret lost in timeโ€ฆ

1584: Elizabeth I rules England. But a dangerous plot is brewing in court, and Mary Queen of Scots will stop at nothing to take her cousinโ€™s throne.

Thereโ€™s only one thing standing in her way: Tom, the queenโ€™s trusted apothecary, who makes the perfect silent spyโ€ฆ

2021: Travelling the globe in her campervan, Mathilde has never belonged anywhere. So when she receives news of an inheritance, she is shocked to discover she has a family in England.

Just like Mathilde, the medieval hall she inherits conceals secrets, and she quickly makes a haunting discovery. Can she unravel the truth about what happened there all those years ago? And will she finally find a place to call home?

Enchanting and gripping, The Queenโ€™s Spy effortlessly merges past with present in an unforgettable tale of love, courage and betrayal โ€“ perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Kathryn Hughes.

A GRIPPING HISTORICAL DRAMA.

Set in two timelines (sixteenth century and the twenty first), the book tells the story of Tom, a young man who travels to far away England and due to his peculiar lip reading, earns a job at the palace and soon becomes the Queen’s spy. In the alternate time line is Mathilde, a young photo journalist from France who gets the shock of her life when she’s told that her dad has left her a mansion in England for her and she must travel to sort out the documents. What dad? She grew up knowing that her dad was dead. Now what was this? Does this mean she has a family? Growing up alone after her mother died, she had longed for a family for so long. Could her dreams be coming true? She travels to London to find out the truth and there, she discovers a shocking family secret.

I love the themes incorporated into the story, how Tom at first unsure of himself became confident in his abilities, finding true love and having it snatched away was heartbreaking. I relate with the characters a lot and i feel they could be real. The writing style is just amazing. Incredible storyline and great characters were the key elements in bringing out this marvelous book.

Thank you very much to Netgalley, Avon books and Clare Marchant for the arc copy of this book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s